Castlefields Bowling Club

These photographs with the dates and descriptions were donated by Malcolm Fletcher (Shropshire Star).


May 1981

The Castlefields team who won their County Cup intermediate round against Archibald Worthington

Back Row, from left, Richie Goddard, John Nash, Lee Clarke, Martin Codd, Pete Walker, Terry Sambrook and Cyril Clift.

Front Row, Tony Poole, Gary Walker, Paul Williams, Alan Meyhew and Tony Gibbons.

July 1982

Back Row, Terry Sambrook, Lee Clarke, Pete Walker, Cyril Clift, Mick Mayhew, Barry Keep.

Front Row, Tony Gibbons, Bill Francis, Martin Codd, John Nash, Paul Williams and Alan Meyhew.

February 1983

Shrewsbury Bowling League champions Castlefields held their annual dinner at the Shropshire Lad From Left, Tony Poole, Lee Clarke, Dave Griffiths, club president Frank Corbett, Dick Meyrick, county president Tony Gibbons and Shrewsbury League president, Jack Smout.

  February 1984

Shropshire Best, Castlefields Bowling Club held their, annual dinner and presentation evening at the Shropshire Lad and there were no shortage of trophies as the picture shows, as the club having included the County Cup, and Shrewsbury League Division One, titles among their honours during the 83 season. From left are: Treasurer Lee Clarke, Captain Martin Codd, Chairman Dave Griffiths and Secretary, John Nash.

September 1984

The men who lost their crown, Back Row John Nash, Kevin Walker, Pete Walker, Alan Meyhew, George Wainwright, Lee Clarke and Tony Gibbons.

Front Row, Glyn Herbert, Steve Walker, Paul Williams, Steve Flynn and Tony Poole.

March  1986

Trophy Time... Castlefields Bowling Club held their annual awards night at the British Rail Club. From left, Olympia & Midlands Masters champion Tony Poole, Secretary John Nash, special guest Dick Meyrick, county president Neville Edwards, club captain Lee Clarke, club president Frank Corbett and master of ceremonies Dave Griffiths.

June 1986

The winners-Castlefields pair George Wainwright (centre) and Tony Poole won the Craven Arms open doubles tournament. They are pictured receiving their trophy from Jack Kelsay, branch manager of the sponsors, UBM Building Supplies.

February 1987

Shrewsbury Bowling League side Castlefields held their annual dinner and presentation evening at the Albrighton Hall Hotel. Pictured (from left) are David Griffiths, chairman; Frank Corbett, president; Barry Keep, captain; and John Nash, secretary.

October 1986

Castlefields winning team Back Row (from left) Vic Humphreys, George Wainwright, Glyn Herbert, Tony Poole, Barry Keep, John Nash, Terry Sambrook.

Front Row, Paul Williams, Lee Clarke, Alan Mathew, Martin Codd, and Richie Goddard.

October 1987

A CASTLEFIELDS quartet had a big triumph in the 1,000 District Club two pairs knockout at the Whitchurch club. The four Alan Peach, Richie Goddard, Glyn Herbert and Cyril Clift calling themselves Mr Bigs Four-won the 600 first prize by beating Wrockwardine Wood A in the final.

Pictured before the start of the action on finals night are back (from left) Officials Geoff Townsend, Mike Picken, Graham Humphreys; winners Richie Goddard, Alan Peach, Glyn Herbert, Cyril Clift; Keith Phillips, Daren Phillips, Wayne Phillips, Bill Tarrel, (Hanwood A);

Front, Keith Pessall, Chris Ball, Mike Jones, Alan Davidson (Big Mac, St Georges); Dave Hardman, Mike Biddulph, Mark Rider, Mick Rider, Jim Mansall (Wrockwardine Wood A).

February 1988

Castlefields Bowling Club held their annual dinner and dance at the Lion Hotel. Seen standing admiring some of the trophies are (from left) John Nash, secretary; Frank Corbett, president; Terry Sambrook, treasurer & captain; Dave Griffiths, chairman; and Wilf Onions, life vice president.

September 1990

Beaten finalists CASTLEFIELDS, who were the shock victims of Old Shrewsbury in the final of the Tanner Cup. Back row (from left) Tony Gibbons, Pete Walker, Tony Poole, Terry Sambrook, Glyn Herbert, Graham Rogers, Barry Keep, captain; referee Dave Card.

Front Richie Goddard, Lee Clarke, Steve Walker, Martin Codd, Paul Williams and John Nash.

June 1993

County Cup runner-up CASTLEFIELDS; Back (from left) Tony Poole, John Nash, George Wainwright, Alan Rogers (snr), Graham Rogers, Trevor Steadman, Kevin Walker Barry Keep.

Front Martin Codd, Neil Walker, Paul Williams, Richie Goddard, Alan Peach and Lee Clarke.

September 1993

Champions yet again -  CASTLEFIELDS; Back (from left) Alan Peach, Lee Clarke, Paul Williams, Glyn Herbert, Alan Rogers, Vic Humphries, George Wainwright.

Front Graham Rogers, Pete Walker, Kevin Walker, Richie Goddard, Barry Keep, captain; John Nash and Tony Poole.

October 1993

Williams a winner - again. CASTLEFIELDS county star Paul Williams added another trophy to his collection when he won the Pontesbury Open. In the final of the Hartwell Charles Clark sponsored event, Williams has a fine 21-12 victory over Hanwoods Bill Tarrel. Losing semi-finalists were Wayne Rogers from Burway and Wems Derek Wright. The pisture shows Ian Preston (left) handing over the trophy to Williams with Tarrel looking on and not appearing too unhappy after his defeat.

March 1994

The winners - CASTLEFIELDS: Back (From left) Lee Clarke, Terry Sambrook, Tony Poole, Pete Walker, John Nash, Alan Peach, Barry Keep.

Front, Richie Goddard, Glyn Herbert, Martin Codd, Paul Williams and George Wainwright.

April 1995

New Kids on the Premier League block - CASTLEFIELDS: Back (From left) George Wainwright, Barry Keep, Tony Poole, Lee Clarke, Keith Wall, Graham Rogers, Kevin Walker.

Front Alan Davidson, Alan Peach, Glyn Herbert, captain; Paul Williams and Richie Goddard.